© 2023 WMRA and WEMC
WMRA : More News, Less Noise WEMC: The Valley's Home for Classical Music
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Virginia election results: Democrats hold the Senate, retake the House

All 140 seats in the General Assembly were at stake in Tuesday's election. We're compiling results and reporting here. Find full results with the WMRA Daily.

Click here for results from the Virginia Department of Elections

Early returns indicate that Shenandoah Valley Delegate and current Republican House Speaker Todd Gilbert will have to give up the gavel come January. Virginia Democrats beat back Governor Glenn Youngkin’s effort to turn the state fully red in yesterday's elections. According to early returns, Democrats regained control of the House of Delegates and held their state Senate majority. But much of the WMRA region remains reliably red, especially in the Shenandoah Valley, where Republicans swept races for House and Senate. In the Harrisonburg area, Republicans Senator Mark Obenshain and Delegate Tony Wilt won reelection. In the Charlottesville area, Democratic Senator Creigh Deeds easily won reelection.

9:00 pm Tuesday: The Washington Post has called several races...
1st Senate district: In this newly drawn district, Republican Timmy French beats Emily Scott 66% to 33%.
2nd Senate district: Republican Mark Obenshain wins reelection over Kathy Beery, 72% to 25%.
3rd Senate district: Republican Christopher Head wins in the newly drawn district, over Jade Harris, 67% to 33%.
10th Senate district: Republican John McGuire wins the uncontested seat.
11th Senate district: Democrat Creigh Deeds wins reelection over Philip Hamilton, 71% to 28%.
28th Senate district: Republican Bryce Reeves wins reelection over challenger Jason Ford, 66% to 30%.

33rd House district: Republican Todd Gilbert, Speaker of the House, wins reelection over Bob Smith, 81% to 18%.
34th House district: Republican Tony Wilt wins reelection over challenger Esther Nizer, 60% to 40%.
35th House district: Republican Chris Runion wins reelection, running unopposed.
36th House district: Republican Ellen Campbell wins the open seat over Randall Wolf, 62% to 37%.
37th House district: Republican Terry Austin beats Stephanie Clark in the newly formed district, 71% to 28%.
50th House district: Republican Tommy Wright wins reelection over Joshua Blakely, 66% to 34%.
53rd House district: Republican Timothy Griffin beats Samuel Soghor in the newly formed district, 72% to 28%.
54th House district: Democrat Katrina Callsen wins the new district unopposed.
56th House district: Republican Tom Garrett wins the new district unopposed.
62nd House district: Republican Nick Freitas beats challenger Sara Ratcliffe, 66% to 34%.

8:35 pm Tuesday: With all three precincts reporting in the 31st House district (Clarke, Frederick, Warren Cos.), Republican Delores Oates wins the open seat over Democrat Steven Foreman, 68% to 25%.

8:15 pm Tuesday: With both precincts reporting in the 32nd House district (Winchester and Frederick Co.), Republican Bill Wiley wins reelection, beating Democrat Mady Rodriguez by 56% to 43%.

6:10 pm Tuesday (from VPM): As of 4 pm, there were more than 20,000 votes cast at Albemarle County’s 30 precincts. Earlier Tuesday, Branchlands Precinct Chief Tim Beeghly said that Election Day voter turnout has been steady.

“Everybody that's come in has just been in a really good mood. And were engaged in what they want to do, which is to be part of the process, and in their own way, part of a solution, so they were very happy and engaged to be here.”

Many voters VPM News talked to in Albemarle said that one of the issues that brought them to the polls was the highly-contested school board at-large seat between Allison Spillman and Meg S. Bryce.

12:45 pm Tuesday (from Virginia Public Radio): Virginia’s Department of Elections reports the day is going well with no major problems. Short of a few power outages, Virginia Elections Commissioner Susan Beals said things were running smoothly.

Beals said there are five types of ballots that will be counted after polls close at 7. Early voting, election day, and mailed absentee ballots make up the vast majority of votes, and will likely determine the outcome in most of the 140 legislative races. But some races are expected to be tight and provisional and post-election ballots could come into play.

Some local registrars expected counting to stretch past 11 PM. Here’s Beals when asked about a timeline for conclusive results:

“That process is something we want them to consider very carefully. We want to make sure our results are accurate so I can’t really give an estimate, each locality is going to be different.”

Polls close at 7 PM, but those in line at 7 will still be able to vote. If you put an absentee ballot in the mail, it will be accepted up until Monday. That deadline was extended because of the Veterans Day holiday.

Bob Leweke is WMRA's News Director and Morning Edition host.